Home >> DG Facts
Area and Terrain
Administrative Divisions
Population Composition
Administrative Divisions

In the 6th Xianhe Reign year of Eastern Tsin Dynasty (331A.D.), Dongguan was established as the Bao’an County, which was changed into Dongguan in the 2nd Zhide Reign year of Tang Dynasty (757A.D.). The reason why it is called Dongguan is that it’s located in the east of Guangdong Province with an abundance of the grass called scripus . In September, 1985, it was upgraded to a Municipality and then prefecture-level Municipality in January, 1988 with 28 towns, 4 street committees, 386 village committees, and 205 neighborhood committees under its administration.

Central Square in Nancheng District

the Integration of Modern Flavor with Culture Connotation